Donald Fagen – The Nightfly

5 09 2008

The Nightfly is a solo record released in 1982 by Donald Fagen of Steely Dan fame. The first few times I heard this record I didn’t quite “get it” or like it for that matter, but the more I was forced to listen to it on drives to Percy Priest Lake the more it grew on me. It’s something of a concept album loosely centering around growing up in Anytown, USA during The Cold War. While this may sound like heavy subject matter, it’s all carried out in a very light hearted and almost naive manner. When straying from this theme, Fagen sings island-jazz tunes about romance on “The Goodbye Look,” while the titular track is about hosting an imaginary radio station.

I find The Nightfly to only get better with each listen as each song seems to take on a personality of it’s own. In fact, it’s one of the very few albums that I can listen to from start to finish. I highly recommend you get this album whether you buy or steal it.

Here is the original music video for “New Frontier” from The Nightfly:

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 09 2008
Hoops McCann

if you don’t like The Nightfly, I don’t want to know you.

5 09 2008
Hoops McCann

response moderation sucks. are you afraid of somebody writing the fuck word?

5 09 2008
finefilter

I’m still getting used to this whole Internet thing. I’ll get it worked out so you can say fuck all you want.

Leave a Reply

