Black Eyed Peas – Boom Boom Pow (One Minute Rule)

24 05 2009

BEP

I’m 9 seconds in and I’m already am hating this song. The sustained synth sound is horrendous and the girl’s “sexy talk” is really not doing it for me. Quite cheesy. This is going to be a long minute.

The drums come in and I have to say, for the amount of money these guys have they should’ve found a decent kick drum. It sounds like something from the free sample pack you get for downloading the trial version of Fruity Loops. If I have to give credit to anything thus far, 22 seconds in now, I suppose the main keyboard riff is slightly interesting because of the timing. Ugh…who knows.

And right on time, the vocals come in at 30 seconds. I don’t know what the hell is going on now. It sounds like a bad Beyonce rip off. There are a lot of vocals going everywhere, yet no chorus. For a #1 song I would expect much better. So now we’re pretty far into the verse…or chorus I guess, and I don’t have anything stuck in my head. Furthermore, there was no change in instrumentation to let me know that the vocals were coming in.

The whole thing is very sparse, which can be good at times but not here. And there’s the 1 minute mark. Thank god. Good riddance. America is done for if this is the #1 song right now. They can’t even write a cheesy pop song right.

Verdict: Ugh.

Actions

Information

One response

26 05 2009
M-L

Just so you know…the song you had on the page isn’t boom boom pow. I don’t know what it was. Not that the actual song is any better.

Leave a Reply

