The Dream – Rockin’ That Thang (One Minute Rule)

3 06 2009
the dream

Run D.M.Cheap

Today I’m really in the mood to hear some hip-hop so I chose an artist from the Billboard named The Dream whose song “Rockin’ That Thang” is currently at the #9 spot on the charts for rap singles. As usual, for the record I have never heard of this rapper or this song before. I’m gonna guess that this a club song and probably not gritty in the least bit. Man, I miss the old days when rap was good. Thanks to Universal Music Group, you have to click here to play along on YouTube. Here we go…hitting play now.

Hahaha. Oh damn, that’s a first I think. I actually cracked up instantly. No joke. The Dream is singing in some weird falsetto saying “Girl I’m in luv witcha.” That was really was not what I was expecting at all. There are familiar club keyboard sounds way in the background and dude’s voice is way in the front. So far, whatever he’s singing isn’t catchy at all. Oh boy. I’m only about 10 seconds in and this song is already laughable. Some insane trumpets come in at about 10 seconds and all the while this guy is still setting up his intro.

The trumpets play for ten seconds by themselves while Mr. Dream apparently takes a quick nap. Go ahead. You’ve had a hard ten seconds of crooning. You deserve it. Ok, wake up The Dream. The drums are here. You have to sing now.

the dream2

Takin' A Piss

I’m gonna listen to that part again because I think I might like the groove of the song once the drums came in. I have to be sure. Ok, I’m gonna say that I kinda like that part. I think the producers knew that part would be cool as well because this dude still hasn’t sang anything yet and we’re about 40 seconds in. Normally going 40 seconds in is nothing but I think it’ s a whole different ball game when talking about pop music, especially the #9 song on Billboard. Just listen to “Blame It On The Alcohol” again if you want to see what I’m talking about.

Alright, well this guy’s lyrics stink but that’s no surprise really. “She going right, she going left…I want it…like a bonnet.” I don’t even know what that means. Even though it took a long time to get to it, there are some catchy melodies going on here. I’ll give him that. It’s also refreshing to see slightly less auto-tune on a top 10 R&B song. But it doesn’t look like we’re going to have time to get to the chorus. This song is 4 minutes long and at the 1 minute mark there is no chorus in sight.

Verdict: I’ll give The Dream a pass here. If I had more than one minute I would probably end up liking it.

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 06 2010
beanieman

i’m a fan of the-dream…i’ll admit that the lyrics at the beginning of the song are hard to understand but the way they really go is not “i want it like a bonnet”. it goes:

she goin’ right/she goin’ left/i had to help myself/i got on it like i want it/she rode the beat like a pony

7 06 2010
pyro

is that The Dream wearing an Orlando Pirates tracksuit ? LOL, That’s my fav PSL soccer team…. MZANSI 4 SHO! http://www.twitter.com/hottstash

Leave a Reply

