Drake – Best I Ever Had (One Minute Rule)

30 06 2009

drake

After pulling a couple horrifying tunes from Pitchfork’s Best New Tracks, we’re back to the Billboard charts for today’s One Minute Rule. It was a fun journey checking out “music” by groups like Passion Pit and Bowerbirds, but I prefer my shit sugar-coated as opposed to all Pabst-soaked and vegan-y. I will however probably go back there eventually for a little change of pace.

The song “Best I Ever Had” by Drake is currently at the #27 spot on the Top 100. Just for clarification, I’ve never heard of this guy or this song before. I did however, just do a Google image search and there are some pictures where he looks a hell of a lot like Kid Cudi. I’m going to assume that he’s a rapper, but I have been thrown off in the past by R&B singers posing as rappers. Hitting play now…

Alright, maybe this won’t be so bad. I’m really liking the old school style of this sample. It has a bit of a late 90s kind of vibe. Oh shit. Never mind. At ten seconds in, some wacky ass kick drum came in and really took me out of chill-out mode. They need to re-mix this song, and I don’t mean in the sense that they need to “remix that shit yo.” I mean they actually should go back into the recording studio and make some major adjustments to the volume levels on that fucking kick drum.

drake2

Kid Cudi?

Drake seems to be trying to sing now. It’s really disappointing to hear that auto-tune is still being used in pop music. After not hearing it on a couple tunes I thought that it might have went away for the time being. The crazy thing is is that he’s not even singing enough for auto-tune to do it’s job. Even amateur comedy groups can make melodies from Katie Couric reporting the news. What happened Drake?

So nothing really happens in the first part of the verse or chorus, or whatever it is. It’s pretty damn sad when you can’t tell one from the other. However, I did really like the note that he hits when he sings the word “down.” For me, that single note is by far the highlight of the song. If they had added some more variety to the vocal melody I think it really could have helped this song. Unfortunately, that’s not going to happen.

I’m at the 38 second mark now and he’s pretty committed to singing as low as possible. It’s like he recorded this song while trying not to wake up the person sleeping next to him. Pretty creepy shit. Oh! Because the melody didn’t really change, I’m going off lyrics alone and proclaiming that I’ve now found the chorus. Are you ready? Here are the lyrics:

u da fuckin’ bes’ u da fuckin’ bes’ u da fuckin’ bes’ u da fuckin’ bes’ u da fuckin’ u da fuckin’ bes’ u da fuckin’ u da fuckin’ bes’ u da fuckin’ u da fuckin’ bes’ u da fuckin’

Verdict: Somebody get me some dumb looking shades! What one man can do, another can do!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

